Nurse Reflection

1 Apr

I have been a nurse for about a year now within an acute care setting. I work overnights on a surgical floor, so we are constantly admitting and transferring patients. I have had many instances similar to those that the nurse in Chapter 1 of the Doombos, Grenhout, and Hotz text experienced. Moments like these come up more frequently than one may think, but the nurse cannot always recognize them. Acute care nursing is a busy job. Most of the time there is not enough time during a shift to get everything done. I often find myself zipping from room to room checking off all the tasks on my list that I need to complete within my shift. This interferes with my ability to respond as a Christian nurse.

The overload that is on my shoulders cuts out the “free time” I get to spend with the patients. Many patients do not understand the patient load that is on a single nurse. This can make the situation even more frustrating. As Doombos, Grenhout, and Hotz (2005) were explaining, the small and personal tasks “take up precious time that acute care nurses, who provide care for multiple clients, can ill afford. But the client does not know this” (p. 18). For example, when I’ve been an a single patient’s room for 15 minutes already helping them reorganize their table, put their socks on, and so on; I begin to get frustrated. Not frustrated at the patient, but at fact that I have a million other things on my mind that I need to do that are a higher priority as a nurse. In nursing school it is drilled into our heads to complete the highest priority task first, but in the real world it is hard to carry through with that when you’re trapped in a patient’s room.

To overcome these situations, honesty with the patient may help the nurse. After completing the task you had needed to do with the patient, still try to connect with them and ask if they need anything else. If they need something else that will require a few minutes to complete, just let them know that you have another patient to see real quick and that you will be back in a few minutes. The patient should respects your honesty and gain your trust if you do carry through with your agreement. It is still important to have a close relationship with the patient, but reordering the way things are done may make the situation less stressful for all involved.

References

Doornbos, M. M., Grenhout, R. E. & Hotz, K. G. (2005) Transforming care: A Christian vision of nursing practice. Grand Rapids: William B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.

Leave a Reply

